This fall South Central College (SCC) and Minnesota State University, Mankato will begin offering a Business Transfer Pathway between the two schools. The new option gives students the opportunity to earn their two-year Associate of Science degree from SCC and then seamlessly transfer their credits toward their four-year Bachelor of Science degree in business at Minnesota State Mankato. Students transferring with the Business Transfer Pathway AS degree from SCC may choose to pursue a degree in Finance, International Business, Management or Marketing at Minnesota State Mankato. Complete information on the transfer pathway is available at

“This Business Transfer Pathway enables those students who may be more comfortable in a community college setting to take the first two years of their Bachelor of Science in business here at SCC and then transfer as a junior into Minnesota State Mankato to complete the last two years,” said Barb Embacher, SCC dean of Workforce Education and Training. “An added benefit is that they will also earn their Associate of Science degree from SCC before transferring to Minnesota State Mankato.”     

“This partnership with South Central College, our close and valued academic neighbor, is extremely exciting as it expands our options to better serve learners interested in business bachelors programs and therefore our regional and business partners too” said Brenda Flannery, dean of the College of Business at Minnesota State Mankato.

This and other transfer agreements between SCC and Minnesota State Mankato complement the Future Maverick Program, which was established in 2015 to provide a smooth transition for all students wishing to continue their studies at Minnesota State University, Mankato after graduating from South Central College. SCC students participating in the Future Maverick program meet with a transfer liaison from Minnesota State Mankato on South Central College’s campuses.  

Both Minnesota State University, Mankato and South Central College are part of the Minnesota system, which comprises seven universities and 30 community and technical colleges.